Alumni, General, St George, UTSC

Eran Tal (PhD 2012) Wins Popper Essay Prize 2016

2016-12-10 |

Congratulations to Eran Tal on having been awarded the Sir Karl Popper Essay Prize 2016. The Prize is awarded annually for the best paper appearing in the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science. He received the prize jointly with Elizabeth Irvine. For more information about Eran’s award-winning article see here. Eran finished his PhD in 2012 and[Read more…]

Tom Hurka appointed University Professor

2013-06-23 |

Professor Tom Hurka has been appointed a University Professor, the highest honour awarded to a University of Toronto faculty member.  The designation recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge.  University Professors are chosen by a selection committee chaired by the provost and receive a research stipend of $10,000 for five[Read more…]