Thomas Hurka wins 2017 Killam Prize in Humanities

2017-06-14 |

The Department of Philosophy of the University of Toronto is proud to announce that University Professor Thomas Hurka has won a prestigious 2017 Killam Prize – one of five presented to top Canadian Scholars by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, in a ceremony at Rideau Hall on May 30,[Read more…]

Dr. Dominic Alford-Duguid winner of 2016 Savan Dissertation Prize

2017-05-02 |

Winner of the 2016 David Savan Dissertation Prize, for best dissertation defended in the Department of Philosophy, is Dominic Alford-Duguid, for his work “Getting Properties in Mind,” supervised by Imogen Dickie and with external examiner Bill Brewer. The prize committee, Jonathan Weisberg and James Allen, praised the work for its evident qualities of clarity, rigour,[Read more…]

Parisa Moosavi winner of 2017 FAS Superior Teaching Award

2017-05-01 |

Parisa Moosavi has been recognized for teaching excellence with a Faculty of Arts + Science Superior Teaching award for 2017. Here is the link to the Arts & Science News article about the award: Congratulations, Parisa!

Book on Arthur Ripstein’s Freedom and Force

2017-04-21 |

Sari Kisilevsky (PhD Toronto, 2008) and Martin J. Stone have just published a collection of essays that engage with Arthur Ripstein’s book Freedom and Force: Kant’s Legal and Political Philosophy (Harvard UP, 2009). Here’s a quote from the publisher’s blurb: “This collection of essays takes as its starting point Arthur Ripstein’s Force and Freedom: Kant’s Legal and Political[Read more…]

Guggenheim Fellowships awarded to Misak and Morrison

2017-04-12 |

The Department of Philosophy of the University of Toronto is proud to announce that two faculty members have won prestigious Guggenheim Fellowships in 2017 – of the 173 fellowships awarded for the United States and Canada this year. Cheryl Misak was awarded a fellowship in the Intellectual and Cultural History category, which will enable her[Read more…]

Ainslie Wins JHP Book Prize

2016-12-10 |

Congratulations to Donald Ainslie! He has been awarded the 2016 Journal of the History of Philosophy prize for the best book in the history of philosophy published in 2015. He receives this award for his book Hume’s True Scepticism (OUP 2015). This is a great honor and recognition for an outstanding philosophical and scholarly achievement. Well done,[Read more…]

Eran Tal (PhD 2012) Wins Popper Essay Prize 2016

2016-12-10 |

Congratulations to Eran Tal on having been awarded the Sir Karl Popper Essay Prize 2016. The Prize is awarded annually for the best paper appearing in the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science. He received the prize jointly with Elizabeth Irvine. For more information about Eran’s award-winning article see here. Eran finished his PhD in 2012 and[Read more…]

Prof. Emeritus Joseph Boyle (1942 – 2016)

2016-09-27 |

It is with great sadness that we mourn the passing of our colleague and friend Prof. Emeritus Joseph Boyle. Joe’s research interests were moral philosophy, ethical theory and applied ethics, natural law, Thomistic ethics and bioethics;  in recent years he taught the graduate class in bioethics.  Joe served the Philosophy Department as St. George Chair (with Amy Mullin[Read more…]