Latest News

Dr. Johanna Thoma wins Governor General’s Gold Medal

2017-06-20 |

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to congratulate Dr. Johanna Thoma on being awarded the 2017 Governor General’s Gold Medal for academic excellence at the graduate level. Johanna Thoma was presented with the Governor General’s Gold Medal in a ceremony at the Faculty Club on May 25, 2017. In attendance were Dr. Thoma’s father, Alexander,[Read more…]

Thomas Hurka wins 2017 Killam Prize in Humanities

2017-06-14 |

The Department of Philosophy of the University of Toronto is proud to announce that University Professor Thomas Hurka has won a prestigious 2017 Killam Prize – one of five presented to top Canadian Scholars by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, in a ceremony at Rideau Hall on May 30,[Read more…]

Dr. Dominic Alford-Duguid winner of 2016 Savan Dissertation Prize

2017-05-02 |

Winner of the 2016 David Savan Dissertation Prize, for best dissertation defended in the Department of Philosophy, is Dominic Alford-Duguid, for his work “Getting Properties in Mind,” supervised by Imogen Dickie and with external examiner Bill Brewer. The prize committee, Jonathan Weisberg and James Allen, praised the work for its evident qualities of clarity, rigour,[Read more…]